Statement from Members of FCDC Steering Committee

The following statement was signed by 33 members of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee’s Steering Committee. The views expressed in this statement are from the undersigned and not meant to be construed as an endorsement or policy of the Party.

Click here to read about this statement in the Blue View.

Senator Chap Petersen recently made offensive comments about American school systems under Jim Crow, for which he apologized after the Fairfax NAACP rightly pointed out his “lack of empathy…for the plight of people of color throughout history.”

We, the undersigned members of the Steering Committee of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee, while acknowledging Senator Petersen’s apology, find his original comments inaccurate and harmful. His apology is only the first step.

We hope the Senator will join the rest of the Democratic Party in redoubling our efforts to fight against racial and social injustices wherever they can be found in our society.

Bryan Graham – Chair, FCDC

Kimberly Adams – 10th Congressional District Representative

Tina Barchik – Vice Chair, Finance

Amber Beichler – Chair, LGBTQ+ Committee

Paul Berry – Vice Chair, Technology

Jimmy Bierman – District Chair, Dranesville

Greg Brandon – Chair, Central Communications Committee

Kristin Cabral – Co-Chair, Election Law & Voter Protection

Richard Chew – District Chair, Hunter Mill

Paul Davis – Regional Vice Chair, North

Nadja Golding – Treasurer

Shyamali Hauth – Chair, Veterans & Military Families Committee

Holly Hazard – Chair, Women’s Rights Committee

Kelly Hebron – District Chair, Lee

Kat Kehoe – Chair, Environmental Committee

Debbie Kilpatrick – Chair, Education Committee

Sandra Klassen – Chair, National Affairs Committee

Dan Lagana – Immediate Past FCDC Chair

Jennifer Lowe Davis – District Chair, Springfield

Andy Pavord – District Co-Chair, Providence

Rachel Rifkind – District Chair, Mason

Saddam Salim – District Co-Chair, Providence

Andrew Scalise – Assistant Treasurer

Mark Schiller – Chair, Youth Affairs

Bryan Scrafford – District Chair, Sully

Julie Shepard – Regional Vice Chair, South

Manisha Singh – Regional Vice Chair, Central

Stephen Spitz – Co-Chair, Election Law & Voter Protection

Denver Supinger – Vice Chair, Outreach

Brad Swanson – Chair, Newsletter Committee

Aaron Yohai – District Chair, Braddock

Janice Yohai – Vice Chair, Voter Registration & Education

Maritza Zermeño – District Chair, Mount Vernon