

Fairfax County Democratic Committee 8500 Executive Park Ave. Suite 402 Fairfax, VA 22031 p: (703) 573-6811 f: (703) 560-7004 fairfaxdemocrats.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 7, 2023

Contact: Dominic Thompson, Executive Director (703) 278-2768 | executive.director@fairfaxdems.org

FCDC Announces Qualified Nominees and Primary Candidates

Fairfax County - April 6th, 2023 marked the deadline for candidates to file for the Democratic nomination to the 35 partisan offices on the ballot this year. Following the signature review for prospective candidates, the Fairfax County Democratic Committee (FCDC) proudly announces the candidates who will seek the Democratic nomination in the June 20th primaries and its nominees for the November 7th general election.

FCDC Chair Bryan Graham states, "The 2023 primary picture is now clear, and races are in full swing. The Fairfax Democrats are committed to winning all 50 races in the county this year. With the many talented and capable candidates running in this cycle, we are confident we will make that commitment a reality. I am excited to watch the democratic process unfold as we head toward the June 20th primary."

The party will certify candidates for the following contested primary races:

- Chairman of the Board of Supervisors: Hon. Jeffrey C. McKay, Lisa M. Downing
- Commonwealth Attorney: Hon. Steven T. Descano, Edward J. Nuttal
- Sheriff: Hon. Stacey Ann Kincaid, Kelvin Garcia
- State Senate
 - o District 33: Jennifer Carroll Foy, Hala Ayala
 - o District 35: Sen. David W. Marsden, Heidi Marie Drauschak
 - o District 36: Sen. George Lincoln Barker, Stella G. Pekarsky
 - o District 37: Sen. J. C. "Chap" Petersen, Saddam Azlan Salim, Erika M. Yalowitz
- House of Delegates
 - o District 7: Paul Berry, Shyamali Hauth, Karen Keys-Gamarra, Mary Barthelson
 - O District 15: Laura Jane Cohen, Eric Schmidt, Henri' Thompson
 - o District 19: Makya Little, Rozia Henson, Natalie Shorter
- Board of Supervisors:
 - o Dranesville District: James N. "Jimmy" Bierman, Jr., David R. Fiske
 - o Mason District: Jeremy G. Allen, Andres Jimenez, Reid G. Voss, Steve Lee
 - o Mt. Vernon District: Hon. Daniel G. Storck, Maritza Zermeño
 - o Springfield District: Alberto Vega, John James Nowadly

The following candidates have no qualified opponents seeking the Democratic nomination, and are now officially our nominees for this year:

o District 13: Del. Marcus Simon

o District 14: Del. Vivian Watts

o District 16: Del. Paul Krizek

o District 18: Del. Kathy Tran

o District 17: Del. Mark Sickles

- Clerk of Court: Chris Falcon
- State Senate:
 - o District 34: Sen. Scott Surovell
 - o District 38: Sen. Jennifer Boysko
 - o District 39: Sen. Adam Ebbin
- House of Delegates
 - o District 4: Del. Charniele Herring
 - o District 6: Del. Rip Sullivan
 - O District 8: Del. Irene Shin
 - o District 10: Del. Dan Helmer
 - o District 11: Del. David Bulova
 - o District 12: Del. Holly Seibold
- Board of Supervisors:
 - o Braddock District: Hon. James Walkinshaw
 - o Franconia District: Hon. Rodney Lusk
 - o Hunter Mill District: Hon. Walter Alcorn
 - o Providence District: Hon. Dalia Palchik
 - o Sully District: Hon. Kathy Smith

As the year plays out, Democratic candidates throughout the county will be taking their messages to the voters of Fairfax County. We encourage voters to visit **fairfaxdemocrats.org** and **fairfaxvotes.org** to learn more about our party, the candidates, and the upcoming elections.