2015 Elections: Your Candidates

2015 elections
What’s on the ballot this year? Who is running? When do I vote?
While the national attention may be on the 2016 Presidential race, here in Virginia we will be electing our state and local officials this November 3rd. As a service provided by the Fairfax County Democrats, we inform voters about campaign activity and upcoming elections.
This November, Fairfax County voters will be electing:

  • Virginia General Assembly: All State Senate and House of Delegates seats
  • Board of Supervisors: District Members and Chairman
  • School Board: District Members and 3 At-Large Members
  • Constitutional Officers: Sheriff, Clerk of Court and Commonwealth’s Attorney
  • Northern Virginia Soil & Water Conservation District Board Directors (3 elected positions)

That amounts to 14 offices on each voter’s ballot, 54 offices up for election countywide, more than 70 different ballot combinations around the county, and multiple candidates for each office. The Fairfax Democrats have a strong slate of candidates for these positions.
Click here for Sample Ballot showing Democratic candidates for all districts in Fairfax County (English & Spanish)
Click here for Countywide sample ballot in Korean, Chinese and Vietnamese

Also, there are two bond referendums on this year’s ballot.  The Fairfax Democrats endorse each  and ask that you vote “Yes.”
Click here for more information about the bonds.
Election Date
November 3rd, 2015: General Election for all offices listed above
Early Voting: Click here for official information
Your ballot will be different depending on which Districts you are in. Every Fairfax County voter lives in a State Senate District, a State House District and a Supervisor District. Click here to find your districts or use one of the resources below.

Senate Districts
House of Delegates Districts
Supervisor Districts
Click the maps to enlarge. Or, visit the Board of Elections site to find out what districts you are in. (Enter your address and click the plus sign next to “Districts.”)
To find your candidates, use one of the tools above to match your district with the district on the list below.
Below is a list of our candidates for 2015.



Senate of Virginia
30th Senate District Senator Adam Ebbin
31st Senate District Senator Barbara Favola
32nd Senate District Senator Janet Howell
33rd Senate District Senator Jennifer Wexton
34th Senate District Senator Chap Petersen
35th Senate District Senator Richard Saslaw
36th Senate District Delegate Scott Surovell (D-44) is our nominee for this seat to succeed Senator Toddy Puller, who is retiring.
37th Senate District Senator Dave Marsden
39th Senate District Senator George Barker
Virginia House of Delegates
34th House District Delegate Kathleen Murphy
35th House District Delegate Mark Keam
36th House District Delegate Ken Plum
37th House District Delegate David Bulova
38th House District Delegate Kaye Kory
39th House District Delegate Vivian Watts
40th House District Jerry Foltz is challenging the incumbent Republican.
41st House District Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn
42nd House District Joana Garcia is challenging the incumbent Republican.
43rd House District Delegate Mark Sickles
44th House District Paul Krizek is our nominee to fill the seat being vacated by Delegate Scott Surovell, who is running for Senate.
45th House District Delegate Mark Levine
48th House District Delegate Rip Sullivan
49th House District Delegate Alfonso Lopez
53rd House District Delegate Marcus Simon
86th House District Jennifer Boysko is running for this open seat, competing against the Republican nominee.
Constitutional Offices
Sheriff Sheriff Stacey Kincaid
Commonwealth’s Attorney Ray Morrogh
Clerk of the Court Bettina Lawton is our nominee to challenge the incumbent Republican.
Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
Chairman, Board of Supervisors Chairman Sharon Bulova
Braddock District Supervisor Janet Oleszek is challenging the incumbent Republican.
Hunter Mill District Supervisor Supervisor Cathy Hudgins
Dranesville District Supervisor Supervisor John Foust
Lee District Supervisor Supervisor Jeff McKay
Mason District Supervisor Supervisor Penny Gross
Mt. Vernon District Supervisor Dan Storck is our nominee to replace retiring Supervisor Gerry Hyland.
Providence District Supervisor Supervisor Linda Smyth
Sully District Supervisor School Board Member Kathy Smith is running for this open seat, competing against the Republican nominee.
Fairfax County School Board
Note: School Board Members do not run on a party label.  The following candidates have been endorsed by the Fairfax County Democratic Committee:
School Board At-Large Ryan McElveen
Ilryong Moon
Ted Velkoff
District School Board
Braddock District School Board School Board Member Megan McLaughlin
Hunter Mill District School Board School Board Member Pat Hynes
Dranesville District School Board School Board Member Jane Strauss
Lee District School Board School Board Member Tamara Derenak Kaufax
Mason District School Board School Board Member Sandy Evans
Mt. Vernon District School Board Karen Corbett Sanders
Providence District School Board Dalia Palchik is challenging the incumbent Republican-endorsed candidate.
Sully District School Board Karen Keys-Gamarra has received Democratic endorsement to fill the seat being vacated by School Board Member Kathy Smith, who is running for Sully District Supervisor.
Northern Virginia Soil & Water Conservation District Board Directors
Note: NVSWCD Board Members do not run on a party label, but they may be endorsed by the Democratic Committee.  The following candidates are endorsed by the Fairfax Democrats:
NVSWCD Board Member George Lamb
NVSWCD Board Member Gerald Peters

For more information, please contact us at (703) 573-6811.