FCDC JJ Dinner a Success!

he 2008 FCDC Jefferson-Jackson Dinner was a terrific success! We had a sellout crowd of over 500 attendees. Our Silent Auction raised a significant amount of money along with our live auction items. We gave out over 13 different awards to deserving Fairfax Democrats. It appears we grossed approximately $65,000.

We heard a gracious speech by our Congressman Jim Moran introducing our keynote speaker. Chairman David Obey’s remarks regarding Republican obstruction of Democratic efforts to support our troops was a poignant reminder of what is wrong with our country, how poorly Republican hypocrisy has been covered in the media, and reinforces our need to get our message out.

We would again like to thank our event sponsors for their generous support. They included:

Shashi Gupta
Jon Bowerbank
Edwards & Nancy Rice
Virginia Leadership PAC
Surovell Markle Isaacs & Levy PLC

Scott Surovell
Patton Boggs LLP
Bob & Mary Ann Hovis
IAFF Firepac Local 2068
United States Congressman Jim Moran
Virginia Senate Majority Leader Dick Saslaw

Loren Hershey
Virginia Muslim PAC
SoltecOne, Incorporated
Dewey Square Group LLC
International Brotherhood of Boilermakers

and The Democratic Party of Virginia
for sponsoring the Young Democrats Table

and to our Table Holders
Former Lt. Gov. Don Beyer
Judy Feder for Congress
Precinct Operations Chair
Sen. Toddy Puller & Del. Kris Amundson
Braddock for Obama & Providence for Obama
Braddock, Dranesville, Hunter Mill, Lee, Mason, Mt. Vernon, Spingfield & Sully Magisterial Districts

FCDC Member of the Year
Jim Southworth

FCDC Volunteer of the Year
Ralph Craft

Charles S. Robb Young Leaders Award
Rafael Arancibia

Lynda J. Robb Community Service Award
Linda Byrne

If you run into our Finance Committee Members please give them congratulations. There were several standouts including FCDC Vice Chair Finance Mary Ann Hovis, Nancy Simmons, Sally Ormsby, Nancy Rice, Rachel Rifkind, Janet Oleszek, and others. Our crack accounting team of Bruce Neilsen, Nadja Golding, and Susan Weltz processed (and we later reprocess for state and federal campaign finance filings) over 600 transactions generated by the event.

The FCDC Congressional Straw Poll results were as follows:
8th CD
Jim Moran – 42, Matt Famiglietti – 4, Blank – 1
10th CD
Judy Feder – 65, Mike Turner 7, Blank – 0
11th CD
Gerry Connolly – 98, Leslie Byrne – 58, Doug Denneny – 12, Lori Alexander 1, Blank – 3
Total Votes – 291, Not Voting In Any Poll – 209

Your generous support is a wonderful to our efforts to build FCDC into the political committee that a county such as Fairfax County deserves. If you liked what you heard and you would like to contribute to FCDC, please click on the picture below to contribute to either the General Campaign, the Capital Campaign or the Joint Campaign. On the next page, you can contribute to the campaign of your choice.


We still have much work to be done to turn Fairfax County, Virginia, and the United States of America BLUE! Thank you for your support as we do our part.

Scott A. Surovell