VOLUNTEER

Why Volunteer?

Volunteers are the backbone of our Democracy.  Virginia has elections every year and each year the Fairfax County Democratic Committee (FCDC) registers new voters, organizes more than 230 precincts, protects people’s Right to Vote, supplies campaigns with important resources, sponsors an internship program with dozens of young people, makes sure our voters know who is on the ballot, how they stand on the issues, where to vote, how to vote absentee, and we get our voters out to vote on Election Days.

FCDC also has a headquarters office in the middle of the County and your contributions pay for the rent, utilities and office supplies so we can help get Democrats elected.  That’s how we win. That’s how we move Fairfax County forward and your contributions of time and money help make that happen. Please fill out our volunteer sign up form and we will make sure your time and effort are put to good use.

Click the box above for our Volunteer signup form where you can select from activities you may be interested in.


Coordinated Campaign

Fairfax County Headquarters
6452 Landsdowne Centre Dr, Alexandria, VA 22315 (map)

Contact your local Field Organizer to get involved!

North Fairfax Organizing Director: Benjy Mercer-Golden
bmercergolden@vavictory2016.org

Dranesville West (Herndon) Organizer: Andres Bachelet
abachelet@vavictory2016.org

Dranesville East (McLean) Organizer: Dylan Igoe
digoe@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Hunter Mill East (Vienna): Rosie Tootell
rtootell@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Hunter Mill West (Reston): Richard Weiner
rweiner@vavictory2016.org

Sully District: Nick Parker
nparker@vavictory2016.org

 

Central Fairfax Organizing Director: Ben Ernst
bernst@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Mason West: Sam Yi
syi@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Mason East: Jenn Hickerson
jhickerson@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Braddock West/Fairfax City: Travis Ratner
tratner@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Braddock East: Katie Costello
kcostello@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Providence West: Lindsay Birk
lbirk@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer Providence East & Falls Church: Cooper Patterson
cpatterson@vavictory2016.org

 

South Fairfax Regional Organizer Director: Tess Rabin
trabin@vavictory2016.org

Lee District: Veronica Ingham
vingham@vavictory2016.org

Mount Vernon District: Alexa Williams
awilliams@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer West Mount VernonDaniel Negrete
dnegrete@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer East Mount Vernon: Caitlin Christian
cchristian@vavictory2016.org 

Field Organizer East Springfield District: Kirsten Schlegel
kschlegel@vavictory2016.org

Field Organizer West Springfield: John Menges
jmenges@vavictory2016.org

Presidential Campaigns

As more information becomes available, we will post it here.

Hillary Clinton (click for website)
Virginia Organizer Melissa Gallahan mgallahan@hillaryclinton.com (Richmond)

Bernie Sanders (click for website)
Local Organizer: Bianca Marquez
Cell: (703) 635-6487
Email: biancamarquez@berniesanders.com

Congressional Campaigns

As more information becomes available, we will post it here.

Don Beyer for Congress (8th District)

LuAnn Bennett for Congress (10th District)
Headquarters 6888 Elm Street Suite 1C
McLean, VA  22101  (map)

Gerry Connolly for Congress (11th District)
11200 Lee Hwy #C2, Fairfax, VA 22030 (map)

Democratic Party of Virginia Loudoun County Campaign Office
supporting LuAnn Bennett for Congress

6 Pigeon Hill Dr. Suite 230
Sterling, VA  20165 (map)

 

Volunteer at an Event:  Click here to view a listing of upcoming Democratic Activities
Many of the events can use volunteers.  Most are supervised by an affiliated organization such as a campaign.  If you need assistance contacting the organizer, contact us.

FCDC Headquarters open 10am-4pm Mon-Fri.  Contact us at (703) 573-6811.
8500 Executive Park Ave.
Suite 402
Fairfax, VA  22031
(703) 573-6811
info@fairfaxdemocrats.org

 


Letters to the Editor


Be Heard! Write a Letter To the Editor. If it’s important to you, write a letter to the editors of your local newspapers.  Your voice will be heard, and may even be published. Democrats have always supported a free and independent press.  It is the privilege of citizenship to express oneself freely and openly.Choose your paper, click and send the letter. It’s that easy! We’ve included newspapers that take email letter submissions. If you have corrections and/or suggestions for other local newspapers / media, please contact us.


TIPS
  • most effective and are likely to be published when limited to one or two strong points
  • keep letters short, between 200 and 250 words (300 max)
  • mention the main reason you are writing at the beginning of your letter, preferably in the first sentence
  • letters must include your home and/or business telephone number and address
  • compose in word processing first: spell check, word count