2017 Elections

On November 7th, 2017, Virginians will elect a Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and all 100 Members of the Virginia House of Delegates.  Seventeen of those 100 districts are partly or wholly within Fairfax County.

We will also have a special election for Fairfax County School Board At-Large on August 29th.  Members of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee will endorse a candidate on June 23rd.

2017 Democratic Candidates

Governor of Virginia




Ralph Northam 

Lieutenant Governor of Virginia

Justin Fairfax

Attorney General of Virginia

Mark Herring

Member, House of Delegates

In the Virginia General Assembly, the state’s legislative body, all 100 members of the House of Delegates are up for election this year.  (The State Senate of Virginia is not on the ballot until 2019.)

Democratic Challengers

In three House of Delegates districts, Democrats have stepped up to run for seats currently occupied by Republicans.

40th District
: Donte Tanner

42nd District:  Kathy Tran

67th District: Karrie Delaney

There are 17 House Districts in Fairfax.  Our incumbent Democrats are running for re-election.

Incumbent Democrats in the House of Delegates
representing parts of Fairfax County

Kathleen Murphy (HD34)
Mark Keam (HD35)
Ken Plum (HD36)
David Bulova (HD37)
Kaye Kory (HD38)
Vivian Watts (HD39)
Eileen Filler-Corn (HD41)
Mark Sickles (HD43)
Paul Krizek (HD44)
Mark Levine (HD45)
Rip Sullivan (HD48)
Alfonso Lopez (HD49)
Marcus Simon (HD53)
Jennifer Boysko (HD86)

If you’d like to learn about all the Democratic candidates for Virginia House of Delegates, click here for the list from the Virginia House Democratic Caucus

We will update this page when we have more information about our candidates.  Feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

(703) 573-6811